This book was suggested to me by a friend, since I was getting burnt out on romance novels. Kudos to Mary and her fantastic writing. Normally, I get confused when it jumps from past/present. However, Mary has excellent writing skills and I wasn’t once confused.

Through the whole book I was very engaged and wanted to finish it as quickly as I could to find out the ending. My husband caught be reading, took the picture below because he said it was weird to look up to the book with a face on it😉.

 

 

I felt for Colin/Owen, the poor man didn’t have a chance at life even from the beginning. Though he wasn’t the best guy (kidnapping a woman for ransom, yeah some would say your an awful person) but he had his reasons for how he became who he was. Colin had a heart buried very deep down inside him, if not he would have given Mia over from the start but then I probably wouldn’t be writing this blog (because the kidnapping makes the whole story).

I liked Eve’s POV, a lonely woman married to Judge Dennett whose caught up in his accomplishments. Mother of missing Mia. Eve kept hopeful of her daughters return home even with her husband being not as hopeful. I didn’t like that she couldn’t seem to stand up to her husband. Gosh, did I mention I’m not a fan of him.

Detective Gabe was devotion to finding Mia and looking after Eve. Gabe was one of the good ones. And his gut about where Mia and Colin were at, well you’ll have to read to know about that… I enjoyed  Gabe and Eve’s bond, how he didn’t have to call daily to check in on her but he did.

The ending of this book made me sad. I’m not sure how I wanted it to end, again, Mary’s writing it just great. She knew how to end it.

I don’t want to give a lot away with my review and I could but you seriously just need to read this book.

I give this book 5 ⭐️ And it’ll probably be a book I read again.

 

-BTW, I’ll be posting my July TBR soon. I’m slacking!

Peace, love and keep watching for more to come!

PS Mary,

please write a book in Mia’s POV! I would def read it!!!

