“Two by two, I thought to myself as I made my way down the stairs. London and me, father and daughter, both of us doing the best we could.”

This line in “TWO BY TWO” written by Nicholas Sparks is probably my favorite line of them all. I’ve tried reading several of Nicholas’ books before and always felt they were hard to get into. Two by two started a little slow but once I got to a certain part I knew Nicholas had written another beautiful story.

At 32, Russell Green has it all: a stunning wife, a lovable six year-old daughter, a successful career as an advertising executive and an expansive home in Charlotte. He is living the dream, and his marriage to the bewitching Vivian is the center of that. But underneath the shiny surface of this perfect existence, fault lines are beginning to appear…and no one is more surprised than Russ when he finds every aspect of the life he took for granted turned upside down. In a matter of months, Russ finds himself without a job or wife, caring for his young daughter while struggling to adapt to a new and baffling reality. Throwing himself into the wilderness of single parenting, Russ embarks on a journey at once terrifying and rewarding-one that will test his abilities and his emotional resources beyond anything he ever imagined.

 

While this story isn’t my life, it actually is a lot of others real life. Nicholas writes in a way that you can jump in a book and become one of the characters. However, in the book I don’t think I would want to be any of the characters. It would be London if I had to choose though. Russ put her first in everything, though at times Vivian made it hard to do so. Speaking of Vivian, I’ve never hated a character so much as I did hers. She gives women a bad name. One time in particular she made me furious is when she promised to be home in time to take London to the blackberry farm, only to turn around and deny ever promising such a promise. Even to the end, I didn’t like Vivian.

The blurb leaves a lot out about Russ’s new and baffling reality and I feel as it’s probably best that it was left out. It gives so much more to the book and for that, you will have to read “Two by Two” to see what I mean.

In the end, I wasn’t necessarily happy with Russ. While he’s a good father and man, he never once stood up to Vivian. I just wanted Russ to once, stand up for himself. Of course that didn’t happen. Vivian in the end had her cake and was able to eat it too.

Overall, I loved the book. I definitely would recommend this book. In a sense, it ended how I wanted it to and in another sense it didn’t. It’s worth buying to read to figure out what I mean. Now my hope is that this book will become a movie, as lots of Nicholas’ book do become.

 

Xo,

Book.Blogging.Momma

