This is a public service announcement, do piss off the ghost.
I was sent a copy of “The Next” by Stephanie Gangi from St. Martin’s Press. They are amazing to work with, always so fast to get my request. In return, as always, I will give my honest thought on this book.

“Is there a right way to die? If so, Joanna DeAngelis has it all wrong. She’s consumed by betrayal, spending her numbered days obsessing over Ned McGowan, her much younger ex, and watching him thrive in the spotlight with someone new, while she wastes away. She’s every woman scorned, fantasizing about revenge … except she’s out of time.
Joanna falls from her life, from the love of her daughters and devoted dog, into an otherworldly landscape, a bleak infinity she can’t escape until she rises up and returns and sets it right―makes Ned pay―so she can truly move on.
From the other side into right this minute, Jo embarks on a sexy, spiritual odyssey. As she travels beyond memory, beyond desire, she is transformed into a fierce female force of life, determined to know how to die, happily ever after.”

I would like to note that this is not a book I would typically pick up to read but lately I have wanted to widen my variety of what I do read.

Stephanie has a way with writing, a way that makes me feel like I need to educate myself more after reading her book. In “The Next”, Stephanie used a lot of words that I have never heard of nor did I know the meaning of. Words of which, I skipped over to words I understood. That would be my only complaint of this book.

While reading, I felt badly for everyone who knew Jo. Jo is such a selfish person, making everyone’s life around her awful. I’m not sure who I felt worse for, Ned, Anna, or Laney. Jo’s life is taken by the dreaded cancer, an comes back as a ghost who haunts her ex, Ned. Ned, who leaves dying Jo for a pregnant famous fling. While some would call Jo’s behavior revenge, I call it being a psycho. I actually felt sorry for Ned, but then again who leaves someone on their death bed?

I felt so sorry for Anna and Laney. Jo had the chance to come back as a ghost and could have made peace for her daughters. Instead, she’s off chasing Ned. In the end, will Jo make peace for the girls? You’ll have to read to find the answers. I will say if I were to die I wouldn’t be seeking revenge on anyone. I would look to give my family peace.

Jo knows how to get revenge but it’s at all cost. I recommend this book to you if you like reading mad ghostly books.

I, however, am on to THE NEXT book. I think I’ll start on……
Xo,
Book Blogging Momma

