Since I have started reading and reviewing, I have often caught myself wishing to hurry up and finish a book so that I could be on to the next. Christmas in Paris was not that kind of book though. As I turned each page and had less to read, I was secretly wishing it didn’t have to end.

This was my first read by Anita Hughes and she didn’t let me down!

Isabel Lawson is standing on the balcony of her suite at the Hotel de Crillon as she gazes at the twinkling lights of the Champs-Élysées and wonders if she’s made a terrible mistake. She was supposed to be visiting the Christmas tree in the Place de la Concorde, and eating escargots and macaroons with her new husband on their honeymoon. But a week before the wedding, she called it off. Isabel is an ambitious Philadelphia finance woman, and Neil suddenly decided to take over his grandparents’ farm. Isabel wasn’t ready to trade her briefcase for a pair of rubber boots and a saddle.

When Neil suggested she use their honeymoon tickets for herself, she thought it would give her a chance to clear her head. That is until she locks herself out on the balcony in the middle of winter. Thankfully her neighbor Alec, a French children’s illustrator, comes to her rescue. He too is nursing a broken heart at the Crillon for the holidays. With a new friend by her side, Isabel is determined to use her time in the “city of lights” wisely. After a chance encounter with a fortune teller, and a close call with a taxi, she starts to question everything she thought was important.

I really loved everything about this book. The setting being in Paris, it was like I was there with her. Isabel goes through two failed proposals and escapes to Paris after canceling the Christmas wedding. Alec is   also going through a failed engagement and staying in the same hotel that was booked for his honeymoon. I mean what are the odds?! Can Isabel and Alec find love or are they hopeless of it?! The answers lie in you buying your copy & it’s a purchase you will not regret.

This book is on my Top 2016 book list!

And Anita, bravo!!!

Xo,

Book.Blogging.Momma

 

 

