“Real life is only one kind of life- there is also the life of imagination” –EB White, Author of Charlotte’s Web

•Away from the city, with no distractions, the Gingerbread House seems like the perfect place to start work on a novel. That’s what former advertising copywriter Tess thinks when she goes there to live with Eleanor, her aged mother-in-law. But Eleanor is suffering from dementia, and caring for her proves tougher than Tess could ever have imagined: feeling increasingly isolated, her only comfort is wine o’clock and weekend visits from her husband. Meanwhile her teenage daughter Katia is helpless to intercede; in the end she can only watch as things fall apart and a tragedy even closer to home surfaces.•

I’m more than proud to be apart of the Blog Tour for Kate Beaufoy for her latest “The Gingerbread House”. This title is written in the POV of Katia, daughter of Tess. Throughout the book I loved how sweet of a daughter Katie was to her mother. This book is beautifully written and gives the reader an inside look into the ups, downs and humor of dementia.

Honestly, there is so much of this book that I loved. Being from the states, I loved the bit of accent that I picked up on, I’ve never heard “Spending Pennies” in reference to using the restroom.

As Donn, son of Eleanor and Tess are struggling to make ends meet Lotus the current caregiver needs a holiday for a wedding. Donn wants Tess to be able to make this work for 3 weeks in hopes of bringing in some money. While at the Gingerbread House, Tess plans to write a novel but with the demanding needs of her mother in law and stress makes it next to impossible. Throughout the book, Katia’s chiming in with her thoughts or telling a fairy-tales story about the life in the Gingerbread House. It’s quite a different thing to read. Through the book, I wondered why Katia seemed to never really talk and it’s not until the very end that I learned why.

I can’t tell you enough in this review about how I deeply enjoyed this book. I feel like we all are going to be in Tess & Eleanor’s shoes at some point in our life, as either the caregiver or the person who needs care. Kate portrays dementia exactly as dementia would be. Though how the patient acts, well that may vary. This is a great book for any reader and I look forward to sharing it with many of my friends.

img_2446

Thanks B&W Publishing for including me on this blog tour and for my copy of “The Gingerbread House”.

