I’m not quite sure how I’m just now reading anything written by Chevy Stevens. Chevy is a NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR and after reading “Never Let You Go”, I know why. The story is very well written and I loved how real it felt. This book is so many women’s lives and I’m thankful that I only read about such lives. Hats off to Ms. Stevens can’t wait to read many more books by you.

IMG_2721

“Eleven years ago, Lindsey Nash escaped into the night with her young daughter and left an abusive relationship. Her ex-husband, Andrew, was sent to jail and Lindsey started over with a new life.

Now, Lindsey is older and wiser, with her own business and a teenage daughter who needs her more than ever. When Andrew is finally released from prison, Lindsey believes she has cut all ties and left the past behind her. But she gets the sense that someone is watching her, tracking her every move. Her new boyfriend is threatened. Her home is invaded, and her daughter is shadowed. Lindsey is convinced it’s her ex-husband, even though he claims he’s a different person. But has he really changed? Is the one who wants her dead closer to home than she thought?

With Never Let You Go, Chevy Stevens delivers a chilling, twisting thriller that crackles with suspense as it expilores the darkest heart of love and obsession.”

Lindsey Nash is truly a wonderful mother; who will protect her daughter at all cost. I really loved this about Lindsey, it’s very inspiring. In part one and two of the book, the story flips back and forth from past/current of the life Lindsey has went through with Andrew. As I mentioned above, this book portrays the abuse that so many women actually live and breath. The book left me feeling thankful that this isn’t my life. Throughout the beginning of the book, I was comparing it to the movie “Enough” that stars Jennifer Lopez. However, mid book everything changes and I was really able to enjoy reading this title.
Never Let You Go is told with two POV, Lindsey and her daughter Sophie. I really enjoyed hearing Sophie’s side of the story also. Sophie like any daughter just wants her dad to be a dad and not manipulative. Sophie’s father has issues from his childhood and his own father not wanting to be in his life. Andrew loved his family but had a really bad way of showing it.
Throughout the book, Lindsey finds compassion from a support group for abuse victims. One member of the group in particular, Marcus, gives self defense lessons after meetings. Lindsey begins trusting and confiding in Marcus. Lindsey also has a boyfriend, Greg, who she’s really not sure if she really even likes. Little bit of a love triangle for Lindsey. One that you’re going to want to figure out!
Sophie also finds love with Jarred. Though when she thinks Jarred is starting to act like her father she begins to pull away from him. In the last bit of the book, Jarred will show you that he is not like her father at all and is truly there for Sophie. I really thought Jarred was just another teenage boy wanting only one thing.

 

Never Let You Go has a few twists that I didn’t see coming. For that I rate this book 4/5. If you like a good suspense thriller, this book is going to be for you.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

xo, BBM

*Thanks Katie at St Martin’s Press for sending me a copy for my honest opinion!

