IMG_3198

 

“Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny first met as college roommates and soon became inseparable, despite being as different as three women can be. Kate was beautiful, wild, wealthy, and damaged. Aubrey, on financial aid, came from a broken home, and wanted more than anything to distance herself from her past. And Jenny was a striver―brilliant, ambitious, and determined to succeed. As an unlikely friendship formed, the three of them swore they would always be there for each other.

But twenty years later, one of them is standing at the edge of a bridge, and someone is urging her to jump.
How did it come to this?
Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door. But how can these three women love and hate each other? Can feelings this strong lead to murder? When one of them dies under mysterious circumstances, will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband?

A suspenseful, absorbing novel that examines the complexities of friendship, It’s Always the Husband will keep readers guessing right up to its shocking conclusion.”

IMG_2577

It’s Always the Husband was a highly anticipated read for me. As always, I have St. Martin’s to thank for sending me only the best.

I really enjoy getting to know these Jenny, Kate and Aubrey. All three girls come from very different backgrounds but still find it easy to be best friends. They are typical college kids doing wild things and having no worries about the outcome. While Jenny is more hesitant, Kate and Aubrey are more out to do crazy things. I felt a connection with Aubrey as she came from nothing and was one of the lucky ones to get to go to college. However, I didn’t relate with much else about her. Kate is the girl everyone becomes addicted to but not me. I could see straight through her. She is all about Kate and really good at pulling that pity card out. I loved how Jenny had her head on straight and kept the other two out of trouble the best she could. As time moves on, the girls have indifferences and I still found myself not liking Kate. Buying and reading this book while show you why. If you love a good suspense girl drama, then this book will be good for your summer TBR.

I want to add that this book is a slow read. I didn’t have that, OMG I can’t put this book down until closer to the end. While it is a slow read it is still a good book. I’ve found myself thinking back to the storyline and these girls even after I finished the last page. I know I left out a lot of the storyline but I don’t know how to not give details away, you just need to read it.

I certainly enjoyed Michelle’s writing style and look forward to reading more from her!
I want to give this book

IMG_2578
Only because it took me a little while to really be into the book. And that ending!!! *Jaw drops*

